Free Legal Defense Case Evaluation on Florida Criminal Burglary Charges
The offense of burglary is not a simple theft charge—it’s something different entirely and carries very different penalties. When you are accused of a burglary offense in the state of Florida, you face potential prison time and other serious consequences. Fortunately, you haven’t been convicted yet and there are options that could help you minimize the effects of this case on your life.
Being charged with burglary can be frightening. As local defense lawyers, we know what you are up against and how stressful it can be. We may also be able to help.
Florida Burglary Laws and Penalties
The Florida burglary laws are complex and can be quite confusing. The facts of your case, along with the evidence that the prosecution has determines just what classification of crime and what potential sentence you will be facing. While this site provides a general overview of the law, consulting with a local defense lawyer is the best way to know for certain what you are up against.
Generally burglary is defined as entering a dwelling or structure, without permission or legal right, with the intent of committing an offense.
First Degree Felony Burglary
Burglary is classified as a first degree felony and carries up to 30 years in prison if convicted. You could be charged with this offense if while in the course of the act, you:
- Make an assault or battery on someone,
- Commit the offense while armed or become armed once entering the premises,
- Use a motor vehicle in actually entering the building, thereby damaging it, or
- Cause damage to the building in excess of $1,000.
Second Degree Felony Burglary
Burglary can be classified as a second degree felony and punishable by up to 15 years in prison if the above listed qualifications were not met (for 1st degree felony burglary), and the property in question is:
- A dwelling, whether or not someone is present at the time of the offense,
- A structure or “conveyance” which is occupied,
- An authorized emergency vehicle (ambulance, fire truck, police car, etc.), or
- A structure or “conveyance” when the offense to be committed is the theft of a controlled substance.
Third Degree Felony Burglary
If the burglary is committed upon a structure (other than a dwelling or home) and the building is not occupied, you could face third degree felony charges. A 3rd degree felony carries up to 5 years in prison.
As you can see, even the lowest grade of burglary offenses carries very severe penalties. If you are accused of an offense like this, you could also be sentenced to pay hefty fines and be forced to carry the label of a convicted felon indefinitely.
We may be able to help. Contact our offices today for a free consultation on your case.
Free Criminal Defense Case Evaluation on Florida Criminal Charges
Call (877) 394-6959 for no obligation legal defense advice from an experienced Florida lawyer who knows how to defend against accusations of criminal charges like burglary.