Free Legal Consultation on Criminal Property Damage Charges in FL
If you are convicted of arson or criminal mischief in Florida you could be facing a significant jail time. Property crimes are typically punished less severely under Florida criminal law than crimes against individuals. However, this does not mean that all property damage crimes are punished lightly.
Facing serious criminal charges of this magnitude can be frightening to say the least. We know that with the time you are facing you may be unsure of what the future holds. We can help put it in perspective and be the attorneys you turn to for experience with cases like yours, and quality legal advice.
If you are falsely accused of something you didn’t do, or made a mistake in a moment of anger, we know how to help you get through this, as quickly and painlessly as possible. Regardless of how you were charged with criminal mischief or other property damage crimes, we know the value of an experienced firm because we have seen how our influence has helped numerous clients.
We also know that each situation is different and although we have experience in arson and criminal mischief cases, we recognize the importance of treating each client as an individual.
So, whether things went horribly wrong, it was an accident, or you did some things you now regret, we are ready to listen. Call for a consultation on your case today.
Florida Criminal Mischief Penalties
Criminal mischief may have been committed if you willfully and maliciously damaged someone else’s property. This law includes graffiti and vandalism. The penalty you face for criminal mischief depends on the value of the damage done.
|$200 or less||2nd degree misdemeanor||Up 60 days in jail and $500 in fines|
|$200- $1,000||1st degree misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail and $1,000 in fines|
|$1,000 or more||3rd degree felony||Up to 15 years in jail and $10,000 in fines|
Ref: Fl. Stat. §806.13
Florida Arson Penalties
If you willfully or while in the commission of a felony, burn or cause damage by explosion to: any dwelling whether occupied or not, any place that people are normally present, or any structure that you had reasonable grounds to believe was occupied, you may be charged with arson.
Arson in these circumstances is a 1st degree felony punishable by up tolife in prison and fines up to $15,000.
If the structure burned or damage is anything other than those listed above (for instance an abandoned building), it is considered a felony in the second degree and punishable by up to 30 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §806.01
If the arson results in injury to someone, you could be facing much harsher penalties in addition to the arson charge.
If someone is injured in the arson you may be charged with an additional 1st degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $1,000. However, if the injury is considered “great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement”, the additional charge is a 2nddegree felony which carries a potential sentence of up to 30 years in prison and $10,000.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §806.031
Free Consultation on any Criminal Property Arrest in Florida, Including Arson and Criminal Mischief
If you are facing charges as serious as this in Florida’s criminal courts, we can help. We know the uphill battle you may be facing. Call for a consultation on your case today.
Call (877) 394-6959
or contact us and we’ll set up a time to talk, answer your questions about the charges, and let you know what you are facing, and what we can do to help.