Free Legal Consultation on Fraud, Bad Checks, and White Collar Charges in FL
In Florida, fraud and worthless checks offenses such as are typically committed in times of financial hardship and desperation. If you found yourself in a bad spot and were charged with “white collar crimes”, we can understand how that can happen.
If you didn’t commit any offense, you need a Florida criminal defense attorney to clear your name in court. It could be a misunderstanding, or a case of mistaken identity.
Maybe you made a poor choice while under stress and now you regret your actions.
Whichever the situation, we can represent your interests when up against the state of Florida. We have handled numerous forgery, fraud, and worthless check cases in Florida and want to help with yours.
Despite our experience we know that every case is different. We are truly interested in the circumstances surrounding your charges and what happened in your situation.
Please contact us today at (877) 394-6959
for a free case evaluation with an experienced defense lawyer.
Worthless Checks – Florida Laws & Penalties
If you pass a check that you have reasonable knowledge will not clear the bank, or if you write a check on a closed account you could face a worthless check charge. Though common, the penalty for worthless checks is anything but light.
Worthless checks is a 1st degree misdemeanor charge that carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $1,000. However, if there are multiple checks that add up to more than $150 or the value of a single worthless check is over $150 you will face 3rd degree felonycharges and a potential sentence of up to 15 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §832.05
Stopping Payment with Intent to Defraud
Similar to worthless checks, if you stop payment on a check when you received something of value in exchange for it, you could face this criminal charge. Typically stop payment is a 2nd degree misdemeanorpunishable by up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500.
However, if the value of the check(s) in question is more than $150, you could be facing charges of a felony in the 3rd degree which carries a potential penalty of up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §832.041
Making False Statements to Obtain Property or Credit
If you make untrue statements in regards to your financial situation in order to receive something of value, or to get credit, you can be charged with this offense. This includes lying on credit applications.
If you are charged with making false statements to obtain credit, you will face a 1st degree misdemeanor offense that carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in prison and fines up to $1,000.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §817.03
Criminal Use of Personal Identification Information – Florida Identity Theft Laws & Penalties
Criminal Use of Personal Identification Information is commonly referred to as identity theft, this statute makes it illegal to use such things as social security numbers, driver’s license numbers, and other identifying information for fraudulent purposes.
If you use, or even possess someone else’s identifying information without their consent you can be charged with a 3rd degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
If you use the information for gain and the value gained is more than $5,000 your charge can be elevated to a 2nd degree felony. A second degree felony carries a potential sentence of 30 years in prison and fines up to $10,000. With this offense you will serve a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years in prison.
Ref: F. Stat. §817.568
Free Consultation on any Fraud, Bad Checks, or Financial Criminal Charge in Florida
There are many fraud offenses under Florida law. The only way to be certain of what kind of time you may be facing and what your outcome may be at trial is to consult with a highly qualified attorney.
We know that white collar crimes are taken very seriously in this day and age in the Florida courts. We want to help you get the best possible outcome. Call today for a consultation on your case.
Contact our attorneys now at (877) 394-6959
and we’ll set up a time to talk, answer your questions about the charges, and let you know what you are facing, and what we can do to help.