Free Legal Defense Case Evaluation on Florida Drug Possession Charges
A drug possession conviction can have a serious impact on your life, and Florida courts can be aggressive in pursuing many minor drug possession charges.
In fact, any misdemeanor drug possession conviction for marijuana possession or any narcotic can result in a loss of your driver’s license for up to 2 years.
Don’t plead guilty to a Florida drug possession charge before speaking with a lawyer and exploring all of your defense options. You do not want to live with a criminal conviction on your record if you can avoid it, and in many cases you can.
Can I Beat a Drug Possession Charge in FL?
Yes, there are often excellent defenses in drug possession cases. can often be reduced or dismissed depending on the facts of your case.
We can file a motion to suppress the evidence if the police didn’t have a legal right to search you, or pull you over and look in your car, or search your home. The police often behave carelessly in searches, and violate your constitutional rights.
Some Florida counties have special drug courts that are designed to help people who have drug addiction problems, and aren’t completely focused on punishment. We can also argue for treatment programs in exchange for leniency in sentencing to avoid the worst outcomes. I will discuss all your options and possibilities in a free case evaluation on your FL drug charges.
What Could Happen to Me If I am Convicted of a Criminal Drug Charge?
The consequences of any criminal conviction can destroy future opportunities and career options in law enforcement and many other professions with certification requirements and background checks. A criminal record will follow you around for the rest of your life, and the fact of any conviction can easily become known to anyone you come across. A conviction is part of the public record, and could easily become searchable on the internet at any time n the future.
Call our Florida drug possession defense attorneys now for a case evaluation to find out how you can keep your record clean, to keep your driver’s license, and keep you out of jail. (877) 394-6959
Florida Drug Possession – Penalties
The following penalties apply to drug possession charges in FL:
Possession of Marijuana (20 grams or less)
Possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a First Degree Misdemeanor.
A 1st degree misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine.
(See My FL Marijuana possession page for more info)
Ref: Florida Criminal Statute – §893.13(6)(b)
Possession of Marijuana (more than 20 grams)
Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana is a Third Degree Felony.
A 3rd degree felony has a maximum penalty of 5 year in jail and a $5000 fine.
(See My FL Marijuana possession page.)
Ref: Florida Criminal Statute – §893.13(6)(a)
Possession of a Controlled Substance (Heroin, Cocaine, Ecstasy)
Possession of a Controlled Substance, which could be cocaine, heroin,meth, ecstasy, or other illegal drugs is a 3rd Degree Felony.
A Third degree penalty carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and up to a $5000 fine. For more info, see our pages on heroin possesion, cocaine possession, and meth possession laws.
Ref: Florida Criminal Statute – §893.13(6)(a)
Possession of More than 10 grams of Heroin
Possession of more than 10 grams of Heroin (and/or most Schedule I drugs and related opiate substances as listed in §893.03(1)(a) or (1)(b) ) is a 1st Degree Felony. A first degree felony has a maximum penalty of 30 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Ref: Florida Criminal Statute – §893.13(6)(c)
Possession of an Unlawful Chemical
Possession of a listed chemical with the intent to unlawfully manufacture a controlled substance is a 2nd Degree Felony. These chemicals may include ingredients to make methamphetamines, ecstasy, GHB, or other drugs. A second degree felony has a maximum penalty of 15 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Ref: Florida Criminal Statute – §893.149
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
The use, possession, manufacture, delivery or advertisement of drug paraphernalia is a 1st Degree Misdemeanor.
Drug paraphernalia as defined under Florida law may include pipes, bongs, other smoking devices, spoons, needles, syringes, scales, measuring or preparation devices, containers, bags, and other items.
A first degree misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine.
See §893.147, Fla. Stat.
Possession of Prescription Drugs
You can be charged with illegal possession of prescription drugs if you don’t have a legitimate doctor’s presciption for any pills in you possession.
Penalties depend on the exact substance you have, but many prescriptions are either opiates (pain killers) or stimulants, and could be a third degree felony.
Florida has long been lax in enforcement of the prescription drug trade, although recent legislation looks to change that. But there are still significant penalties for illegal possession of prescription drugs, and especially distribution or trafficking of prescription drugs.
Driving under the influence of prescription drugs while impaired is also a fast growing criminal charge. You can absolutely be charged with a DUI if you are though to be impaired by drugs, even your own legal prescriptions.
Free Criminal Defense Case Evaluation on Florida Drug Laws
Call our Florida defense lawyers now to talk about any drug possession or drug related criminal charge in Florida. We will offer you a case evaluation on your legal defense options, answer any questions you may have, and give you an honest assessment of what may happen to you, and the most likely results in your specific circumstances.
Then you can make an informed decision as to how to proceed. You can decide whether you want to fight the charges, or work out a plea deal for a no contest. Whatever you decide to do, we can help.
Call (877) 394-6959 for no obligation legal defense advice from an experienced Florida lawyer who knows how to fight drug possession charges.